Home / Our Philosophy / Foundation / Scholarships



No matter what shape healthcare takes in the future, there will always be a need for people who provide skilled and compassionate care. Community Medical Center Foundation and our scholarship donors are dedicated to helping the students who will be tomorrow's caring healthcare professionals. Each year, the Foundation awards scholarships to Missoula County high school students and to Community Medical Center employees who plan to pursue healthcare careers. Since our Healthcare Scholarship program began in 1990, we have awarded more than 551 scholarships, totaling over $350,000. 

During 2014, the Education Committee worked hard to review the many outstanding applicants and awarded 27 - $1,000 Missoula County high school scholarships; 2 Premier $2,500 Missoula County high school scholarships; 16 - $500 Community Medical Center employee scholarships; 1 Premier $1,000 employee scholarship; and 1 Missoula College Radiologic Technology scholarship.   

Apply For a Healthcare Scholarship: 
For more information or questions on the 2015 application process, please call the Community Medical Center Foundation at 406.327.4141. 

In selecting healthcare scholarship recipients the Foundation considers:

  • academic performance
  • involvement in well-rounded activities
  • intention to pursue a healthcare career
  • personal motivation

Each year we select students with a wide variety of interests and healthcare career goals. Past recipients have pursued education or training in areas such as pharmacy, phlebotomy, recreation therapy, nursing and pre-medicine programs. 

Help Us Provide Healthcare Scholarships: 
Scholarships are awarded to students throughout Missoula County.  Your gift helps to ensure caring and qualified medical practitioners for our community. You may name a scholarship for a tax-deductible contribution of $500, $750 or $1,000.  Gifts of any size are also welcomed to the Foundation's General Scholarship Fund.  An endowed scholarship can be established for $10,000-$25,000 or more, depending on your goal for the scholarship award.

To make a donation to the scholarship fund, click here.

Thank you to our 2014 Scholarship Donors:

High School Scholarship Donors:

Dr. Rebecca & Mr. Carl Anderson* Community Medical Center   Community Medical Center Foundation
Community Medical Center Medical Staff Wayne Davis & Qin Yu*  Patricia Douglas Memorial Scholarship*
Dr. John & Nora Evert Scholarship Dr. Jon & Sigri Gildea Diane & Jeff LaPorte
Meng Dentistry: Vince Meng, DDS and Joe Meng, DDS, MS Dr. Vince & Sue Meng* Missoula Bone & Joint
Joseph & Kristy Petrino  Dr. William & Robin Tawney Nichols 

Dr. Tim & Tonda Richards*

Drs. George & Kathy Roth* Larry & Kristin Stayner Family* Dr. Michael & Dani Stewart*
Dr. & Mrs. Susan Tryhus Kevin & Margaret Winter Endowment* Wells Fargo Bank
(2) Western Montana District Medical Society* Western Montana Clinic Michael & Melissa Woods*
Dr. & Mrs. Scott Wyman Community Medical Center Pharmacy See Your Name Here--Give Today! 

Donor for the Missoula College Radiologic Technology Scholarship:

Community Medical Center Diagnostic Imaging

 Community Medical Center Employee Scholarship Donors:

Dr. Tom & Tondy Baumgartner Charles & Alison Charman Concerned Nurses
Dr. Kristin Janczewski Dr. Steve Kemple E.W. Lister
Muralt Family (4) Barry & Jill Olson* ServiceMaster*
Eva Stoutenburg Dr. William & Robin Tawney-Nichols Community Medical Center Medical Staff

Endowed Scholarships:

Concerned Nurses
Patricia Douglas Memorial Scholarship*
Dr. John & Nora Evert Memorial Scholarship
ServiceMaster Award*
Kevin & Margaret Winter Scholarship*

* These donors have supported the Community Medical Center Foundation scholarship program for five or more years.

Other Scholarship Donors: Anonymous, Carol Graves, Cynthia Bryan Prudential: Montana Real Estate, Nerissa Koehn & John Miller, Dr. John Browne, Mr. & Mrs. Mark Dvarishkis, Mr. Auerbach, Montana Center for Facial Plastic Surgery, Dr. Janice Givler.

Thank you to our 2014 Education Committee:
Kathy Roth, DDS, Chair; Kym Black, Jeri Fisher, Shannon Lukes, Denise Moore, Susan Muralt, Mike Size, Immediate Past Chair; Kimberly Ryan-O'Hara

If you would like to learn more about providing a Healthcare Scholarship or contributing to the General Scholarship Fund, please contact us at 406-327-4141.  Thank you.